Spaness

1471762_760847433930934_257663444_n

My career is over. Well, my first “real” career, anyway.

When I first moved out of my parents’ home (the DAY after high school graduation) I moved to my state’s metropolis: Indianapolis. I literally went from their home to my own apartment and well-paying job, immediately. This was in 1999 and I was thn paid over $22 / hour to stand in the cockpit entrance to an airplane, with a fly swatter, to keep Japanese beetles from entering the plane. My job was to kill them on sight, but I sure didn’t. I’m not sure I even shoo’ed them away. I was there for right about 2 years.

(My client & sweet friend Nikki, our last service before she becomes a mother!)

(My client & sweet friend Nikki, our last service before she becomes a mother!)

Then I went into retail management… for Goodwill Industries of Central Indiana. This was a blast and my store location did some fantastic things with disabled people and it was under my watch that we hit a few hefty milestones as far as the life of a Goodwill store is concerned. I gave my resignation and ended my employment there exactly on my 2-year anniversary with the company.

(My client and pal, Sonya-ji on our last day! She's offered to bribe me with delicious homemade Indian food to come to her home & do her hairs... tempting!)

(My client and pal, Sonya-ji on our last day! She’s offered to bribe me with delicious homemade Indian food to come to her home & do her hairs… tempting!)

Then I went to hair school. It was around this time that I met my beloved (my second husband). This education led directly to the longest employment I’ve ever held, and the only education whose applicable industry I worked in until the student loans were repaid (all but about $1200).

(This sweet soul, Charlene, was loyal to me for years. By far one of the sweetest and most human blessings to sit in my chair. I'll miss you muchly Char!)

(This sweet soul, Charlene, was loyal to me for years. By far one of the sweetest and most human blessings to sit in my chair. I’ll miss you muchly Char!)

A few years ago I went to school for Medical Assisting and worked for an outpatient hematology & oncology treatment clinic… oddly enough, leaving at around the 2-year mark. I know, I know. I’m seeing the patter, too. While going to school for Medical Assisting, and while working at the clinic, I held on to the spa job – part time, but still very involved. Soon enough I left the clinic and went to work for a health information management company that, so far, kicks ass more than any other employment I’ve held.

(This little lady, Deepa, and her sister, Sabrina, became clients of mine years ago. Deepa was always a favorite to have in my chair. It's because of her that I have half the muscle I do in my arms - SO much gorgeous hair!)

(This little lady, Deepa, and her sister, Sabrina, became clients of mine years ago. Deepa was always a favorite to have in my chair. It’s because of her that I have half the muscle I do in my arms – SO much gorgeous hair!)

A few months ago, when the beloved and I both received promotions (and significant raises)(and actually prior to those things) I decided that I’m getting too old, too tired, and consistently have too much on my plate and would leave the part timery behind. I think my beloved didn’t really think I would, but then my raise way more than covered what I make at the spa and he got an increase, too, so… It’s quittin’ time.

(Libby, a true Georgia peach, and my client Ron. He confided in me that in SEVENTY years of getting haircuts, he's never had the quality or experience as he received in my chair. Thanks, Ron!)

(Libby, a true Georgia peach, and my client Ron. He confided in me that in SEVENTY years of getting haircuts, he’s never had the quality or experience as he received in my chair. Thanks, Ron!)

The Saturday after Thanksgiving was my last day at the spa. It was underwhelming and short, but really good still. Truly bittersweet, it was, and quite relieving.

I’ll miss the creative outlet. I’ll miss touching people and learning so much about humanity from that first-hand experience. I’ll miss the great tips my clients gave and I’ll miss having complete control over those funds (the beloved and I have joint finances). But I’m thrilled to be part of Shiva’s Dance – the tandava that creates, sustains, and matures all and everything.

(Photo-bombing compliments of trucker Michelle, while she should have been with the client in her chair! LOL)

(Photo-bombing compliments of trucker Michelle, while she should have been with the client in her chair! LOL)

My prayer these days, dear reader, are that you are able not only to recognize the cosmic dance in your own life, but that you are willing partners with Shiva and have the grace to allow with His lead.

Aum Shri Mahaganeshaya Namaha
Aum Shanti

Leave a Reply

