Kelly Yoga

Sometimes while at my desk I open a browser window and have Pandora pulled up so that I can listen to music while I play the role of worker bee. sometimes, believe it or not, I have too much going on to actually have music going (it almost detracts from my throught process and I make more mistakes at work when this is the case). However, one day earlier this week I was able to enjoy a few moments of music and Kelly Clarckson came on. She does from time to time. The song of hers that hit my ears was “Catch My Breath.” I’ve heard the song no less than three dozen times probably, but suddenly it struck me as quite yogic. Not to get too twisted here, I’ve included a video of a cover of this song. (I enjoy covers, too, from time to time.)

The first minute or so of the song – just listen to the words.

I don’t wanna be left behind
Distance was a friend of mine
Catching breath in a web of lies
I’ve spent most of my life
Riding waves, playing acrobat
Shadowboxing the other half
Learning how to react
I’ve spent most of my time

This should, at least in part, sound very familiar. At least one of these lines applies to just about anyone – just about everyone. This first verse of Kelly’s song describes a lot of any modern human’s day-to-day process. We spend all of our energy – mental, emotional, and physical – doing things that either hurt us or, at best, keep us running in place. Most humans are too engaged in this day-to-day-ness to even realize it. And often even those who realize it are too engaged to either do something about it or to do much at all about it.

Luckily, as the song progresses Kelly shares with us some wisdom we have likely overlooked. If you read (or listen) through the rest of the lyrics you’ll notice a progression. She steps back – only far enough to breath a bit. That’s all. That’s really all that’s needed at first.

She breathes a bit. And little by little (as the song moves along) Reality manifests for her. Priorities are aligned and she’s able to stick to what’s actually important. The lyrics indicate that she’s able to prioritize as she ought to. She’s able to grab onto happiness that stems from within and carries her. She’s able to experience freedom that comes from the confidence in knowing and experiencing who she really is.

All because she paused just long enough to catch her breath.

This is absolutely mudane and no less amazing. The last 8 weeks of work (surely the next 8 as well), and particularly this past week while I’ve been on-call (which I will continue through the next 2.5 days) have been enough to make me chug Pepto Bismol and skip meals (my usual response to stress). I definitely could benefit from Kelly’s example. Couldn’t you?

Aum Shri Mahaganeshaya Namaha
Aum Shanti

Leave a Reply

