Mirror, Mirror, on the Wall

I was chatting with a friend this afternoon. We’d both agreed that our entire respective workdays had been utter wastes and that we’d mostly spent the day doing anything but labor. Truly, I find this to be an excellent sign of fortune. It’s also a sign of laziness, but certainly good fortune that my bhai and myself are in work environments that, on occasion, permit such leisure.

Anyway, in the course of our conversation he mentioned going to another state to view a temple which he assured me was breathtaking. He also mentioned that the most recent issue of my favorite magazine was in his possession (I’m STILL waiting for my own copy to arrive!!!!) and that he would not tell me too much about it because he didn’t want my mind to be pre-blown. He followed this with a remark that is pretty typical, stating that if going to a gorgeous temple isn’t enough of a mind-blow temptation, that it must take a lot to blow my mind.

In my typical fashion, I had responded with a question meant to provoke deeper thought, “If your mind stays blown, then what appeal do such things hold?” I asked this of him for a number of reasons, including but not limited to, hoping he would  turn it into an opportunity for self-reflection on what it takes for HIS mind to be blown, what it means for a mind to be blown, and I was just being a jerk.

He responded with an admonishment that I stop asking questions the answers to which are self-evident. When he says things like that, I’m not always certain he caught was I was throwing. My response to that, though, was, “Lord – Why do you hate mirrors, bhai?”

His answer? One that I would give. “Most of them… have terrible lighting.” Classic. He went on to mention that he wasn’t aware that he didn’t like mirrors and that he would try to be more open to when they are presented to him. Maybe he caught what I was throwing, after all.

Either way, his remark about terrible lighting is nearly great. And often true. What’s the use of trying to benefit from the use of a mirror if the lighting is terrible? Does that then present the opportunity (responsibility?) to correct that terrible lighting? And for that matter, all lighting deficiencies aside, what if the mirror before you is dusty or otherwise has a film on it?

Can you, then, tell me what good the mirror is?

Aum Shri Mahaganeshaya Namaha

Aum Shanti

One response to “Mirror, Mirror, on the Wall

  1. I caught what you were saying alright, bhai. I suppose if we recognize that we are facing a filthy mirror then of course it is our responsibility to know that what is reflected is inaccurate and then do something about it. Yes. For the record you are not a filthy mirror. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

